Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Scott Tipton

Representing the 3rd District of Colorado

Durango and Grand Junction Big Winners in Airport Improvement Program

June 5, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) announced that several regional airports in Colorado’s Third Congressional District will receive more than $14.4 million to make much-needed improvements to facilities, runways, and other infrastructure. U.S. Representative Scott Tipton (CO-03) and U.S. Senators Cory Gardner and Michael Bennet, who supported the awardees’ grant applications, applauded the announcement.

“Anyone who travels to Colorado’s Western Slope knows that it is not always easy to get there, but our regional airports provide unparalleled service to residents and tourists,” said Rep. Tipton. “I applaud DOT’s recognition of the important role regional airports play in rural Colorado and appreciate the Department’s support of our residents and our robust tourist economy.”

“I am pleased that FAA is awarding these grants for necessary improvements at our regional airports, which play a vital role in ensuring the connectivity of Coloradans across our state,” said Senator Gardner. “As Colorado continues to grow, we must bolster our transportation networks and going forward, I will continue my efforts to support Colorado’s infrastructure needs at the federal level.”

“Rural airports are an integral part of our state’s economy. It is critical that they have the funding they need so they can continue to serve our communities safely,” Senator Bennet said. “These grants will enable our regional airports to start work on much-needed airport improvement projects.”


Earlier this year, Tipton, Gardner and Bennet supported the applications of Colorado regional airports for Airport Improvement Grants. Of the several regional airports to receive grants made available through the Airport Improvement Program, the biggest recipients were Durango ($6.8 million) Grand Junction ($4.9 million).

The DOT will formally announce the full list of grant recipients soon.