Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Tipton Announces 2020 U.S. Service Academy Nominations

December 24, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON D.C. – Congressman Scott Tipton (CO-03) announced the names of 22 students from Colorado’s Third Congressional District who received a Service Academy nomination. The individuals were selected based on meeting or exceeding the rigorous requirements of the respective academy and Congressman Tipton’s office.

“Colorado has a long history of its bravest citizens volunteering to serve in the U.S. Military, and it is my great honor to select the best and brightest students across our district to attend our nation’s prestigious military academies,” said Tipton. “Each and every one of these students have unequivocally demonstrated their unique qualifications to serve as future military leaders. I could not be more proud of their accomplishments and wish them all the very best as they answer the call to serve our nation.”

Congressman Scott Tipton’s Academy Nominations for the Third Congressional District:

U.S. Military Academy (Army)

Jacob Hemard – Palisade, CO

Jacy Werner – Steamboat Springs, CO

Canden Wilkinson – Steamboat Springs, CO


Air Force Academy

Nicholas Burke – Grand Junction, CO*

Jeremiah Garcia – Pueblo, CO

Annmarie Hackworthy – Steamboat Springs, CO*

Jack Jones – Delta, CO*

Erik Krauth – New Castle, CO*

Riley Prichard – Colorado City, CO

Benjamin Sceats – Glenwood Springs, CO

Cole Simmons – Montrose, CO*

Dayton Sofka – Olathe, CO


U.S. Naval Academy

Maggie Friemel – Glenwood Springs, CO

Noah Grady – Pueblo West, CO*

Thomas O’Connor – Pueblo West, CO

Timothy Perez – Pueblo, CO*

Alana Schaak – Colorado City, CO*

Davey Stanfield-Brown – Glenwood Springs, CO*

Mackenzie Younker – Grand Junction, CO


Merchant Marine Academy

Ian Barnes – Fruita, CO*

Aidan Partch – Glenwood Springs, CO*

Simon Varela – Austin, CO


*Received a nomination to multiple academies.


Students in the Third District who are considering applying to a U.S. Service Academy can find more information on the nomination process at: