Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Scott Tipton

Representing the 3rd District of Colorado

Tipton's Bill to Name Peaks in Honor of Colorado Climbers Passes House

November 28, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON D.C. — Congressman Scott Tipton’s (CO-03) bill to name two mountain peaks in honor of mountaineers Charlie Fowler and Christine Boskoff passed off the House Floor. Tipton’s bill, the Fowler and Boskoff Peaks Designation Act (H.R. 2768) would designate two unnamed mountain peaks on the border of San Miguel and Dolores Counties, Colorado, as “Fowler Peak” and “Boskoff Peak.” Both climbers were tragically killed in a 2006 avalanche while attempting to summit Genyen Peak in Tibet. H.R. 2768 passed the House with a bipartisan vote of 409-0.

“Charlie Fowler and Christine Boskoff were celebrated mountaineers, but they were also known for their tireless advocacy for human rights, dedication to philanthropy, and stewardship of the environment,” said Tipton. “Through the designation of these peaks, their legacy and life’s work will live on for generations to come.”

The Senate Companion to H.R. 2768 (S. 1271) was introduced by U.S. Senators Cory Gardner and Michael Bennet on May 30, 2017. It received a legislative hearing in the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Subcommittee on Public Lands, Forests and Mining on July 27, 2017.