Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Tipton Addresses Small Business Caucus Kick-off Event

May 21, 2013
Press Release

WASHINGTON —Rep. Scott Tipton (R-CO) stressed the importance of small businesses to America’s economic recovery during an event hosted by the SCORE Foundation to mark the launch of the bipartisan Congressional Small Business Caucus in the 113th Congress.

Tipton and Chellie Pingree (D-ME) founded the House Small Business Caucus in February. The Caucus currently has 90 bipartisan members committed to open dialogue on the issues that most impact small businesses and dedicated to advancing efforts to foster the economic certainty needed for small businesses and entrepreneurs to succeed and create jobs.

“The members of the bipartisan House Small Businesses Caucus come from every corner of this nation. While we have diverse backgrounds, skill sets, and political views, we share the belief that small businesses are the driving force of job creation in this country. Because of that belief, we are committed to working together to help entrepreneurs and small businesses succeed,” Tipton said. “The purpose of this Caucus is to provide an additional platform for small business owners to be heard, an advocate for commonsense policies that encourage opportunities for small business, as well as provide information and resources to help connect employers with job seekers.”

The primary goals of the House Small Business Caucus include:

  • Raising awareness of issues that most impact small businesses including access to capital, access to technology, regulation and taxation, and exploring legislative solutions to encourage entrepreneurship and small business growth;
  • Providing a forum for candid conversation with small business owners to gather recommendations on what issues and priorities Congress should focus on to assist small businesses;
  • Advancing and promoting small business initiatives that support local commerce and strengthen communities;
  • Providing information and education to help Members of Congress arrange job fairs, business roundtables, trade expos and other events in their districts that promote small business growth and encourage job creation.

Members of the House Small Business Caucus include:

Reps. Robert Aderholt, Mark Amodei, Michele Bachmann, Ron Barber, Andy Barr, Kerry Bentivolio, Diane Black, Marsha Blackburn, Suzanne Bonamici, Madeleine Bordallo, Paul Broun, Vern Buchanan, Cheri Bustos, Lois Capps, Tony Cardenas, Andre Carson, Matt Cartwright, Steve Chabot, David Cicilline,Yvette Clark, Mike Coffman, Tom Cole, Chris Collins, Joe Courtney, Danny Davis, Susan Davis, Suzane Delbene, Tammy Duckworth, Bill Foster, Tulsi Gabbard, Pete Gallego, Cory Gardner, Paul Gosar, Tom Graves, Tim Griffin, Raul Grijalva, Janice Hahn, Richard Hanna, Alcee Hastings, Denny Heck, Jaime Herrera Beutler, Jim Himes, Ruben Hinojosa, Rush Holt, Michael Honda, Tim Huelskamp, Jared Huffman, Bill Huzienga, Darrell Issa, Sheila Jackson Lee, Hank Johnson, Joseph Kennedy, Derek Kilmer, Steve King, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ann Kuster, Doug LaMalfa, David Loebsack, Zoe Lofgren, Alan Lowenthal, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Carolyn Maloney, Ed Markey, Doris Matsui, Betty McCollum, James McGovern, Michael Michaud, Gary Miller, Patrick Murphy, Alan Nunnelee, Bill Owens, Donald Payne Jr., Chellie Pingree, Robert Pittenger, Jared Polis, Mike Pompeo, Carol Shea-Porter, Mark Pocan, Tom Rice, Raul Ruiz, Steve Stockman, Mark Takano, Dina Titus, Scott Tipton, David Valadao, Chris Van Hollen, Juan Vargas, Marc Veasey, Henry Waxman and Randy Weber.